top of page
PB1_0835-1.jpg

Winter orchestral season


Photo by Perry Bennett


This winter, the orchestral concert season heats up! The West Virginia Symphony Orchestra shares three holiday programs in December, starting with "Sounds of the Season" with music director Maurice Cohn on Friday, December 1 at 7:00 PM at Carnegie Hall in Lewisburg, Saturday, December 2 at 7:30 PM at the Clay Center in Charleston, and on Sunday, December 3 at 2:30 PM at Blennerhassett School in Parkersburg.


The WVSO's annual performances of Tchaikovsky's Nutcracker with the Charleston Ballet and music director Maurice Cohn are on Friday, December 8 at 7:30 PM and on Saturday, December 9 at 2:30 PM and 7:30 PM at the Clay Center in Charleston.


The WVSO also presents "Magnificent Messiah" featuring Bach's Magnificat with the West Virginia Symphony Chorus and conductor David Castleberry on Saturday, December 16 at 7:30 PM at the Clay Center in Charleston.


The Marietta Symphony Orchestra shares "A Classical Christmas" with conductor Bob Turizziani on Sunday, December 10 at 7:00 PM, followed by a Young Peoples Concert on Monday, December 11 at 11:30 AM, both at the Peoples Bank Theatre in Marietta, Ohio.


The Lima Symphony Orchestra rings in 2024 with "A Swingin' New Year's Eve with Sinatra and Friends" with conductor Antoine Clark on Sunday, December 31 at 7:30 PM at the Veterans Memorial Civic and Convention Center in Lima, Ohio


The West Virginia Symphony Orchestra kicks off the new year with "Musical Sweets and Treats", featuring Haydn Symphony No, 104, on Saturday, January 20 at 7:30 PM, followed by "Great Movie Soundtracks" on Saturday, February 10 at 7:30 PM, both at the Clay Center in Charleston.


Resonance Works returns with artistic director Maria Sensi-Sellner for "This Love Between Us", featuring Reena Esmail's This Love Between Us and Bach's Magnificat, on Friday, February 2 at 7:30 PM at Trinity Cathedral and on Sunday, February 4 at 4:00 PM at Fox Chapel Presbyterian Church, both in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

Featured Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
bottom of page